Awards 2010


At the 14 April 2011 meeting the Society recognized:

Madeleine K Anthony Award : Mike and Lynn Cottrell and Helen and Bill Hardman for their work on the preservation of the Chestatee Diving Bell.

Certificates of Appreciation: Al Adams, Marsha Kaufmann, George and Peggy Thompson, Mary Ellen Moore, Angela Glowcheski, North Georgia College and State University, Sarah Ellen McDonald, Wayne Knuckles, Anne Amerson, Dr. James P. Delgado, Bill Waldrop, Joe Porter, Maria Jacobson, Ron Larson, Chris Worick, Henry Preston Wilderson Jr., Bill Curly, and the Chestatee River Diving Bell fundraising committee.

Essay Contest Winners

  • Luke Davidson, "The Appalachian Trail."

  • Drew Bodney, "The Sargent Building: A Significantly Booming Place in Dahlonega's History."

  • Rachel Steingberg, "The Historic Holly Theater."

  • Don Landrum, "The Magnificent discovery of Gold in Georgia and How it Affected its People."

  • Grace McLeod, "Gold in Lumpkin County."

Photos courtesy of the Dahlonega Nugget. Full award details including essays are in the May 2011 Now and Then Newsletter.